IFY programme


IFY Programme English


Requirements for entry onto the NCC Education IFY qualification :

  1. Certificate of successful completion of school (A candidate should be at least 16 years old)
  2. IELTS 4.5

Those who don’t have an IELTS score can take the free NCC Education Standard English Placement Test which is administered in our centre.

International Foundation Year programme consists of eight units.

The qualification consists of the following six core units:

  • Developing English Language Skills – develops your English language skills to be able to communicate effectively beyond simple everyday contexts. It aims to improve all four skills of reading, writing, listening and speaking and enables you to acquire a broad range of knowledge which you can use to confidently and effectively communicate in English. The unit guides you through Intermediate and then Upper Intermediate levels of English language study.
  • Advanced English Language Skills – enables you to put into practice the language you have acquired and develop into an advanced user of English. You will make extensive use of the four skills of speaking, reading, listening and writing, as well as extending your knowledge of complex grammar and advanced vocabulary.
  • English for Academic Purposes – develops your understanding and use of the key linguistic skills necessary to engage effectively in an academic environment where you are being taught in English.
  • Study and Communication Skills – equips you with the essential study skills needed to succeed at university level. You will learn the basic skills necessary to conduct independent research, write academic papers, give formal oral presentations and apply what has been taught during lectures to your studies.
  • Culture Studies – enables you to gain awareness and increased understanding of other cultures. You will learn about various features of a foreign country and its culture, with a particular focus on student life and studying abroad.
  • Foundation Mathematics – builds upon your existing knowledge in the areas of mathematics whilst introducing new topics appropriate across a range of academic disciplines and for your future career.

A further two units must be taken from a choice of four electives:

  • Introduction to Computing – provides you with a basic introduction to a range of IT topics including organisation of a computer system, the relationship between hardware and software, applications of computers, databases, networking (with a focus on the Internet), graphics and multimedia.
  • Introduction to Programming – exposes you to extensive practical use of the modern programming language Visual Basic to illustrate the classic programming principles of sequencing, selection and iteration in the context of object-oriented computer programming.
  • Introduction to Business – provides you with an introduction to the purpose, types and organisation of businesses. You will also become familiar with a range of business concepts such as basic marketing practices.
  • Introduction to Accounting and Economics – introduces you to the key principles of accounting and economics. You will become accustomed to concepts such as market structures and monetary policy and also learn how to produce simple financial statements.

Optional Module: Introduction to IELTS – prepares you for assessment by the International English Language Testing System (IELTS). This unit does not carry any credits towards the qualifications and is not assessed by NCC Education.


The assessment will be carried out in a number of assessment cycles during a year. The modules are assessed by either examinations or assignments.

In recent years, our students have pursued their studies in following universities:

  • University of York
  • University of Bath
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Sussex
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • Goldsmiths, University of London
  • University of Wales, Bangor
  • De Montfort University
  • University of Bradford
  • University of Northumbria
  • University of Brighton
  • University of Plymouth
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • University of Greenwich
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of Central Lancashire
  • University of the West of England
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Portsmouth
  • Staffordshire University
  • University of Sunderland
  • Birmingham City University
  • University of Northampton
  • University of Worcester
  • University of Teesside
  • Deakin University (Australia)
  • Limkokwing Institute of Creative Technology (Malaysia)